Alert Your Patients About Denture Cleansers

The FDA is asking the manufacturers of denture cleansers to revise labeling and to consider appropriate alternatives to an ingredient in their products. This action is in response to reports of 73 severe reactions linked to these cleansers, including at least one death.

The ingredient, persulfate, which is known to cause allergic reactions, is the most likely cause of the problem according to literature and research. Persulfates are used in these products as part of the cleaning and bleaching process.

The full FDA release, with links to additional information, may be read here.

2 Responses to Alert Your Patients About Denture Cleansers

  1. kgraves3@verizon.net says:

    I am the wife of a man who has recently had two anaphylactic episodes due to what I suspect might possibly be persulfates in dental cleansers. I have called numerous labs, asked our newly acquired allergists at Eastern Virginia Medical School, the FDA, our Dentists, local dermatologists, LabCorp, etc, and on and on as to “where” my husband could be patch tested for allergies to persulfates and no one seems to have a clue. I am writing you in hopes you might be able to give me a hint as to where in the US I might find a lab or doctor who does such testing?

    My husband began having a rash on various parts of his body about 9 months ago. About two months ago and the day after a midnight anaphylactic episode, we were in Eastern Virginia Medical School’s Allergy Department beginning the process of testing for the culprit. After another anaphylactic episode followed by my husband’s discovery of a rash on his pallet, I went on line and found that persulfates in Denture Cleansers have recently made the headlines for causing mild to severe reactions in some people. One death has been traced to them. I have read numerous articles about the allergies to persulfates in the Denture Cleansers and have talked to the company of the Denture Cleanser my husband has used ( who admits the persulfates are in their product and that they are soon to put a warning on their Cleanser packaging but even he cannot tell me where my husband can be tested for an allergy to the persulfates)

    The testing done at EVMS turned up that he is allergic to almonds and beef. One might tell my husband to simply stop using the Denture Cleansers, avoid beef and almonds and keep on going. However, since beef is a food that I would like to continue to serve if possible, I would like to rule out the persulfates or “rule in” them since the anaphylactic reaction may have been to the combination of both or whatever. Just avoiding the Dental Cleanser does not bring me peace or satisfaction for many reasons. It is believed also that the persulfates can be absorbed into the dentures so that even avoiding the Cleansers might not solve the problem right away. It is possible that he may need new dentures if he is allergic to persulfates and they have absorbed into the dentures he wears now. We would like to get to the bottom of all this but need to be tested for the persulfates. Do you know of a Lab or Office where my husband could be tested? I am a retired flight attendant with USAIR and can fly standby for free to wherever. Any leads would be appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Karen Graves

    Chesapeake, Va 23324

  2. KAREN GRAVES says:

    It has become quite clear that the persulfates in the denture cleansers my husband had been using have caused the problem my husband has been having over almost the last year. For months he struggled with a horrible rash on his legs and arms and torso for which he had to seek medical attention. Finally the breathing problems began which sent him to the emergency room twice with a tongue so swelled up it looking like it was too big for his mouth. Then he had to go through several thousand dollars worth of allergy testing and Doctor visits before my husband and I realized his problems were from the persulfates, (after I read an article about them on the web.)

    We have since been told that there is no specific allergy test available to the public for allergic reactions to the persulfates in the denture cleansers. Our family Doctor has subsequently told my husband to test himself by not wearing the dentures for several days, (the persulfates most likely have absorbed into them) then get off the antihistamines and see what happens. We were afraid to do this before the Doctor told us to because of the anaphylactic reactions, which can send him to the emergency room. Before even using the denture cleansers again but with just putting his dentures back in, my husband had a rash on his body and on his upper pallet in no time. Immediately he started the antihistamines again to ward off an anaphylactic reaction.

    And now it looks like he is going to have to get a new set of dentures because the persulfates have absorbed into them and he has an allergic reaction if he wears them when not on the antihistamines. The problem with the antihistamines is that they make my husband sluggish all day when he is normally full of energy and very active. He has his own business and the antihistamines are hindering his normal stamina and energy level. Once he gets new dentures, which can cost us several thousand dollars whereby he can then eliminate all the persulfates from his body, he will not have any more problems and will be able to stop the antihistamines and eliminate the epi-pens also.

    My question now is, how can we force the company who manufactured these Denture Cleansers to pay for his medical bills and new dentures?

    Looking forward to hearing from you,

    Karen Graves

